Bookmark and Share
Search



















Montreal city guide




History




The island of Montreal, although officially discovered by Jacques Cartier in 1535, was inhabited by Native American tribes for centuries before the Europeans arrived. When Cartier landed on the island, he discovers the fortified village of Hochelaga inhabited by around 1500 Iroquois. The town was named after the name given to the mountain at the center of the island, Mons realis (Mount Royal) by Cartier.

Samuel de Champlain went to the island in 1603, then abandoned it because he can not defend against attacks from the Mohawk Indian tribe. French colonization of the island of Montreal really begins in 1642 with the installation of a summer missionary, Ville-Marie, formed to evangelize the Indians.

In 1754 began the Conquest war between the French and the British. It was in 1759, at the Battle of the Plains of Abraham that the British were victorious, wich announces the end of French rule in the territory.

After the British conquest, the vast majority of the population is french, but the wealthy are mostly English. In the nineteenth century, the rapid growth of the city accelerated the construction of the Lachine Canal and the rapid development of railways made Montreal the railway hub of Canada.

During the twentieth century, Montreal was modernized and developed a reputation as an "open city". It ensures its status as an international city thanks to the Universal Exhibition of 1967 and 1976 Olympics.

Discover Montreal




Montreal is the most populous city of the province of Quebec and Canada's second most populated with about 1700 000 inhabitants. The city's population is predominantly young with 44% of people aged under 35, and immigration is the main driver of population growth. The majority of Montrealers has French as the main language (approximately 70.8%), a significant portion (18.9%) is neo-Canadian and has neither English or French as their mother tongue and about 11.3 % are English speaking.





The city of Montreal occupies the greater part of the island of Montreal and extends over 360 km2. It is located in the lowlands of the Saint-Laurent, at the confluence of the Saint-Laurent River and Outaouais River. The main elevation of the island, Mount Royal, overlooking downtown with 234 meters high. Montreal has a significant amount of green space. Its 17 largest urban parks occupy 6% of the city, covering an area of approximately 20 km2. The five major and most famous parks are the Jean-Drapeau park, the Mont-Royal park, the Maisonneuve park, the La Fontaine Park and the Jarry Park.





The Montreal area has a humid continental climate. The hottest month is July with an average of 20.9 ° C and the coldest month is January with an average of -10.2 ° C. Summer temperatures are usually warm and humid. The appearance of the first snow is usually between 1 and 15 December and melting between 1 and April 15, for an average of five months of winter cover.



Chinatown


Chinatown, located between Viger, St-Urbain, René-Levesque and St. Lawrence, is the legacy of the Chinese settled here in 1860 following their contribution to the construction of the highway iron across Canada. Crossed by a pedestrian street, Chinatown is composed of several grocery stores and restaurants for the most specialized in food and Asian cuisine. Lined with 2 doors offered by China, this area is very busy and popular with tourists.

Old Montreal


Old Montreal is a historic area of the city, the great majority having been declared a historic district. This is the original site of the city of Montreal, then known as Ville-Marie. This is one of the most popular tourist areas of the city, but also in Quebec and Canada. In addition to the Old Port, there are many public places, many buildings from the French regime and heavily visited Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal. One can also visit several museums including the Pointe-a-Calliere Museum, the Marguerite Bourgeois Museum, the Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours, etc.

Quartier Latin


The name of this district comes from the presence of a university in this area. In the early twentieth century, this neighborhood was one of the major intellectual centers of French America and it’s where were living the french intelligentsia of Montreal. Several small bars and cafes still give this district a bohemian atmosphere of the early twentieth century. The presence of St-Denis Theatre, the Great Library of Quebec, the cinematheque and the NFB (National Film Board) makes it a mecca of Montreal culture.

Gay village


The gay village, commonly known as "The Village", is, geographically, one of the largest neighborhoods gays in the world. The bars and clubs of the village are among the most trendy in the city. The St. Catherine Street, main street of this neighborhood, is exclusively pedestrian in summer

Quartier des spectacles


Le quartier des spectacles est un nouveau quartier montréalais où l’on retrouve, en plus de la Place des Arts, une trentaine de salles de spectacle. De nombreux festivals d’envergure internationale ont aussi lieu dans ce quartier : Festival international de jazz, Francofolies de Montréal, Festival Juste pour rire, etc.).

The plateau Mont-Royal


Commonly called "The Plateau", this trendy neighborhood attracts musicians, artists and intellectuals of all kinds. Its popularity is due to several factors. Firstly it has two of the largest parks in the city: Mont-Royal and Lafontaine, in addition to being located near the city center. It is also recognized as a leading art and culture scene in Canada, containing the largest concentration of artists in Canada with a concentration 10 times higher than the Canadian average. There are also a host of cultural institutions (theaters, concert halls, cultural centers, dance troupes, art galleries) and numerous specialty shops.

Attractions


Every year, Montreal hosts more than 10 million visitors and tourists. Certain places or buildings are better known than others, this is where tourists make it a priority regardless of the duration of their stay.

The Old Port of Montreal


Located near the St. Lawrence River, the Old Port stretches over two km and includes several platforms connected by a promenade lined with a park. Society of the Old Port ensures the animation of the place and activities are offered in both summer and winter. There is also an IMAX theater and science center of Montreal. More than 6 million tourists are welcomed each year.

The Saint-Joseph Oratory


Inaugurated in 1904 at the initiative of Brother André, the work of the whole place ended in 1967. This is where the most important pilgrimage dedicated to St. Joseph throughout the world. Its dome 60 meters in height, internal diameter of 39 meters and the cross, culminating in Montreal, reaches 300 meters. In the gardens of the Oratory, you can follow a path of cross-scale sculpture representing the passion of Christ. The chapel attracts about 2 million visitors annually.

Montreal Botannical Garden


The garden covers 73 hectares is one of the largest botanical gardens in the world in terms of size and plant collection. With its 22,000 plant species, its 10 exhibition greenhouses and thirty thematic gardens, you will be dazzled by the scents and colors whatever the time of the year. Many animation activities embellish your visit, such as free-flying butterflies in the greenhouse along with classical music in the spring, magic lanterns and the large fall Pumpkin Ball to celebrate Halloween. The insectary is also on the area of the botanical garden.

Casino of Montreal


The casino is located on Notre-Dame island in Montreal. Canada's largest casino, it has 9 floors, 150 gaming tables, 4,800 slot machines and electronic games and one of the largest Keno games in America. It also houses four restaurants and a theater with 500 seats.

The Biodome


The Biodome is a living museum that combines zoo, aquarium and botanical garden. You can see the animals interact with their natural habitat has been recreated in the old velodrome for the 1976 Olympics. The Biodome has several thousands of animal and plant species from different latitudes in the Americas. It contains indeed four ecosystems: the rainforest, Laurentian forest, the Gulf of St. Lawrence and North and South Poles.

The Biosphere


This environment museum, housed in the former U.S. pavilion from Expo 67 on Sainte-Hélène island, present interactive activities and exhibitions on major environmental issues related to water, air, climate change and sustainable development. Nearly all of the Biosphere, you can visit the ecological solar house, which demonstrates that it is possible to build a house that respects the environment while meeting the needs of daily life, and a wetland that has for use in a natural way to treat wastewater from the Biosphere.

Notre-Dame Basilica


Notre-Dame is one of the most valuable buildings of the religious heritage of Québec. True gallery of religious art, the Basilica annually receives hundreds of thousands of visitors, attracted by its splendor Gothic carved wood, stained glass, paintings, sculptures ... You can visit the Basilica during a visit of twenty minutes or a guided tour of 2 hours.

Montreal’s Olympic Stadium


Montreal's Olympic Stadium was opened for the Summer Olympics of 1976. With a capacity of 65,000 seats and provided, according to original plans, a retractable roof, it is the largest stadium in Canada. The tower 175 meters high overlooking the stadium is the largest inclined tower in the world. Access is by funicular glass cabin which allows an impressive overview of the city and the top floor of the tower is an observatory with an unparalleled view can be worn on a clear day, 80 km to the round.

Bookmark and Share
guide montreal
Votre Recherche



















Guide de Montreal




Histoire




L’île de Montréal, bien que découverte officiellement par Jacques Cartier en 1535, fut habitée par des tribus amérindiennes plusieurs siècles avant l’arrivée des Européens. Lorsque Cartier débarque sur l’ile, il découvre le village fortifié d’Hochelaga habité par environ 1500 Iroquois. La ville a été nommée d’après le nom donné à la montagne au centre de l’île, Mons realis (Mont-Royal) par Cartier.

Samuel de Champlain se rend sur l’île en 1603, qu’il abandonne ensuite car il n’arrive pas à le défendre contre les attaques de la tribu amérindienne Mohawks. La colonisation française de l’île de Montréal commence vraiment avec l’installation en 1642 d’une colonie de missionnaires, Ville-Marie, mise sur pied pour évangéliser les Amérindiens.

A partir de 1754, la guerre de la conquête oppose les Français aux Britanniques. C’est en 1759, lors de la bataille des plaines d’Abraham que les Britanniques remportent la victoire qui annonce la fin du régime français sur le territoire.

Après la conquête britannique, l’immense majorité de la population est francophone, mais les classes riches sont surtout anglophones. Au dix-neuvième siècle, la croissance rapide de la ville est accélérée par la construction du canal Lachine et le développement rapide des chemins de fer fait de Montréal le nœud ferroviaire du Canada.

Durant le vingtième siècle, Montréal se modernise et développe une réputation de « ville ouverte ». Elle assure son statut de ville internationale grâce à l’exposition universelle de 1967 et les Jeux olympiques de 1976.

Découvrir Montréal




Montréal est la ville la plus peuplée de la province de Québec et la deuxième plus peuplée du Canada avec près de 1700 000 habitants. La population de la ville est majoritairement jeune avec 44 % d’habitants âgés de moins de 35 ans et l’immigration est le principal moteur de la croissance démographique. La majorité des Montréalais ont comme langue principale le français (environ 70,8 %), une part importante (18,9 %) est néo-canadienne et n’a ni l’anglais ni le français comme langue maternelle et environ 11,3 % se déclarent anglophones.





La ville de Montréal occupe la plus grande partie de l’ile de Montréal et s’étend sur 360 km2. Elle est située dans les basses-terres du Saint-Laurent, à la confluence du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de la rivière des Outaouais. La principale élévation de l’île, le Mont-Royal, surplombe le centre-ville de ses 234 mètres.
Montréal est dotée d’une quantité appréciable d’espaces verts. Ses 17grands parcs urbains occupent 6 % du territoire, couvrant une superficie d’environ 20 km2. Les 5 grands parcs les plus connus sont le parc Jean-Drapeau, le parc du Mont-Royal, le parc Maisonneuve, le parc La Fontaine et le parc Jarry.





La région de Montréal possède un climat continental humide. Le mois le plus chaud est juillet avec une moyenne de 20,9°C et le mois le plus froid est janvier avec une moyenne de -10,2°C. Les températures en été sont généralement chaudes et humides. L’apparition des premières neiges se situe généralement entre le 1er et le 15 décembre et la fonte entre le 1er et le 15 avril, pour une période moyenne de 5 mois de couverture hivernale.



Quartier chinois


Le quartier chinois, situé entre les rues Viger, Saint-Urbain, les boulevards René-Levesque et Saint-Laurent, est l’héritage des Chinois venus s’y installer à partir de 1860 suite à leur contribution à la construction du grand chemin de fer traversant le Canada.

Traversé par une rue piétonne, le quartier chinois se compose de plusieurs épiceries et restaurants pour la plupart spécialisés dans l’alimentation et la gastronomie asiatique. Bordé de 2 portes offertes par la Chine, ce quartier est très achalandé et prisé par les touristes

Vieux-Montréal


Le Vieux-Montréal est un quartier historique de la ville, sa grande majorité ayant été déclarée arrondissement historique. Il s’agit du site d’origine de la ville de Montréal, alors appelé Ville-Marie. Il s’agit de l’un des secteurs touristiques les plus populaires de la ville, mais aussi du Québec et du Canada.

En plus du Vieux-Port, on y trouve de nombreuses places publiques, plusieurs édifices datant du régime français et la très visitée Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal. On peut aussi y visiter plusieurs musées dont le Musée Pointe-à-Callière, le Musée Marguerite Bourgeois, la Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours, etc.

Quartier Latin


Le terme Quartier Latin est d’origine parisienne et désigne l’arrondissement où s’élevait l’université dont l’enseignement était dispensé en latin. L’appellation de ce quartier provient de la présence d’une université dans ce secteur. Au début du vingtième siècle, ce quartier constituait l’un des principaux foyers intellectuels francophones de l’Amérique française où résidait l’intelligentsia francophone de Montréal. Plusieurs petits bars et cafés donnent toujours au quartier cette atmosphère bohème du début du vingtième siècle. La présence du théâtre Saint-Denis, de la Grande Bibliothèque du Québec, de la cinémathèque et de l’ONF (Office Nationale du Film) en fait un haut lieu de la culture montréalaise.

Village gai


Le village gai, communément appelé « Le Village », est, en superficie, l’un des plus grands quartiers gais au monde. Les bars et clubs du village sont parmi les plus branchés de la ville. La rue Sainte-Catherine, rue principale de ce quartier, est exclusivement piétonne en été.

Quartier des spectacles


Le quartier des spectacles est un nouveau quartier montréalais où l’on retrouve, en plus de la Place des Arts, une trentaine de salles de spectacle. De nombreux festivals d’envergure internationale ont aussi lieu dans ce quartier : Festival international de jazz, Francofolies de Montréal, Festival Juste pour rire, etc.).

Plateau Mont-Royal


Communément appelé « Le Plateau », ce quartier branché de la ville attire les musiciens, artistes et intellectuels en tous genres. Sa popularité est due à plusieurs facteurs. Tout d’abord il possède 2 des plus grands parcs de la ville : Le Mont-Royal et le Parc Lafontaine, en plus d’être situé près du centre-ville. Il est aussi reconnu comme l’un des principaux lieux culturels et artistiques du Canada, renfermant la plus grande concentration d’artistes au Canada avec une concentration 10 fois supérieure à la moyenne canadienne. On y retrouve aussi une foule d’établissements culturels (théâtres, salles de spectacles, maisons de la culture, troupes de danse, galeries d’art) ainsi que de nombreuses boutiques spécialisées.

Attraits touristiques


Chaque année, Montréal accueille plus de 10 millions de visiteurs et touristes. Certains lieux ou édifices sont plus connus que les autres, c’est là où se rendent en priorité les touristes quelle que soit la durée de leur séjour.





Situé aux abords du fleuve Saint-Laurent, le Vieux-Port s’étend sur 2 Km et comprend plusieurs quais reliés par une promenade bordée d’un parc. La société du Vieux-Port veille à l’animation du lieu et des activités y sont offertes en été comme en hiver. On y trouve aussi le cinéma IMAX et le centre des sciences de Montréal. Plus de 6 millions de touristes y sont accueillis chaque année.





Inaugurés en 1904 à l’initiative du frère André, les travaux de l’ensemble du lieu se terminèrent en 1967. C’est le lieu de pèlerinage le plus important dédié à Saint-Joseph à travers le monde. Son dôme à 60 mètres de hauteur interne, 39 mètres de diamètre et sa croix, point culminant de Montréal,
atteint 300 mètres. Dans les jardins de l’Oratoire, vous pourrez suivre un chemin de croix grandeur nature peuplé de sculpture représentant la passion du Christ. L’oratoire attire environ 2 millions de visiteurs chaque année.





Ce jardin qui s’étend sur 73 hectares est un des plus importants jardins botaniques du monde en termes de taille et de collection de plantes. Grâce à ses 22 000 espèces de plantes, ses 10 serres d’exposition et sa trentaine de jardins thématiques, vous serez éblouis par les parfums et les couleurs quel que soit le moment de l’année. De nombreuses activités d’animation viennent agrémenter votre visite, telle que les papillons en liberté dans la serre accompagnés de musique classique au printemps, la magie des lanternes en automne et le grand bal des citrouilles pour célébrer l’Halloween. L’insectarium se situe également sur les terrains du Jardin botanique.





Le casino se situe sur l’île Notre-Dame à Montréal. Plus grand casino du Canada, il compte 9 étages, 150 tables de jeux, 4800 machines à sous et jeux électroniques et l’un des plus grands jeux de Keno en Amérique. Il abrite également 4 restaurants et une salle de spectacle de 500 places.





Le Biodôme est un musée vivant qui combine zoo, aquarium et jardin botanique. Vous pouvez y voir les animaux en interaction avec leur habitat naturel qui a été recréé dans l’ancien vélodrome des Jeux olympiques de 1976. Le Biodôme présente plusieurs milliers d’espèces animales et végétales provenant des différentes latitudes du continent américain. On y retrouve effectivement quatre écosystèmes : la forêt tropicale humide, la forêt laurentienne, le golfe du Saint-Laurent et les pôles Nord et Sud.





Ce musée de l’environnement, installé dans l’ancien pavillon des États-Unis de l’expo 67 sur l’île Sainte-Hélène, présente des activités interactives et des expositions sur les grands enjeux de l’environnement reliés à l’eau, l’air, les changements climatiques et le développement durable. Tous près de la Biosphère ; vous pourrez visiter la maison solaire écologique, qui fait la démonstration qu’il est possible de construire une maison qui respecte l’environnement tout en répondant aux besoins de la vie quotidienne, ainsi qu’un marais artificiel qui a pour utilité de traiter de façon naturelle les eaux usées de la Biosphère.





La Basilique Notre-Dame est l’un des bâtiments les plus précieux du patrimoine religieux du Québec. Véritable galerie d’art religieux, la basilique reçoit chaque année des centaines de milliers de visiteurs, attirés par sa splendeur gothique : bois sculpté, vitraux, tableaux, sculptures… Vous pouvez visiter la basilique lors d’une visite d’une vingtaine de minutes ou d’une visite-conférence de 2 heures.





Le stade olympique de Montréal fut inauguré pour les Jeux olympiques d’été de 1976. D’une capacité de 65 000 places et muni, selon les plans originaux, d’un toit rétractable, il est le plus grand stade du Canada. La tour de 175 mètres de haut qui surplombe le stade est la plus grande tour inclinée du monde. L’accès se fait par un funiculaire dont la cabine vitrée permet un impressionnant tour d’horizon de la ville et le dernier étage de la tour est un observatoire offrant une vue sans pareille pouvant se porter, par temps clair, à 80 Km à la ronde.

Festivals et événements